. Jizo moving in quake

[ . BACK to TOP of this BLOG. ]

Six Jizo moving during the earthquake in 2011

On the morning after the strong earthquakes of March 11, felt here three times with a strength of about 6 within two hours, these six statues had changed their direction, from looking south, to about 90 degrees further toward the direction of the earthquake, toward Sakae-mura village 栄村.
The road and railway were disrupted and the 2000 villagers had to be evacuated.

The statues are about 70 cm high, made of stone.
The first Jizo, the leader, did not change his position, but the six others faced Sakae-Mura as if to protect the villagers from harm. And indeed, no casualities in the village.

Now they are venerated even more as protectors of the village.

The Six Earthquake Jizo Statues


source : www.asahi.com .


Usually there are six Jizo statues at the crossroads.
They are the guardian deities of the Six Realms of the afterlife.
roku Jizo 六地蔵

In Japan, groupings of six Jizō statues (one for each of the Six Realms) are quite common and often placed at busy intersections or oft-used roads to protect travelers and those in "transitional" states. Jizō also often carries a staff with six rings, which he shakes to awaken us from our delusions. The six rings likewise symbolize the six states of desire and karmic rebirth and Jizō’s promise to assist all beings in those realms. In Japanese traditions, the six rings, when shaken, are also meant to make a sound and thus frighten away any insects or tiny animals in the direct path of the pilgrim, thus ensuring the pilgrim does not slay or accidentally kill any life form. In Chinese traditions, Jizō shakes the six rings to open the doors between the various realms.

Worship of the Six Jizō can be traced back to the 11th century in Japan, but this grouping has no basis in Mahayana scripture or in the writings of Buddhist clergy. Its origin is probably linked to a similar grouping of Six Kannon (one for each of the six realms) that appeared in the early 10th century in Japan’s Tendai 天台 sect.

Six Realms (from lowest to highest, from worst to best)

Hells (Skt. Naraka, Jp = Jigokudō 地獄道)
Hungry Ghosts (Skt. Preta, Jp = Gakidō 餓鬼道)
Animals (Skt. Tiryasyoni, Jp = Chikushōdō 畜生道)
Bellicose Demons (Skt. Asura, Jp = Ashuradō 阿修羅道)
Humans (Skt. Manusya, Jp = Jindō 人道)
Heavenly Beings (Skt. Deva, Jp = Tendō 天道)

source : Mark Schumacher

. . . . .

. Jizo Bosatsu .
(Kshitigarbha) 地蔵菩薩

Sechs Jizo-Statuen an Wegkreuzungen
(Roku Jizoo)

Nach dem Tode gehen die Seelen der Menschen einen der sechs Wege (rokudoo) zu einem der sechs Existenzbereiche, in dem jeweils auch eine Kannon-Figur zu ihrer Errettung wartet: Welt der Götter (Wunscherfüllende Kannon), Welt der Menschen (Reineits-Kannon), Welt der Dämonen (Elfköpfige Kannon), Welt der Tiere (Pferdeköpfige Kannon), Welt der hungrigen Totengeister (Tausendarmige Kannon) und Welt der Höllenbewohner (Heilige Kannon). Die sechs Jizoos führen aus diesen sechs Bereichen zum Paradies. Besonders häufig in der Joodo-Sekte.

Häufig als sechs einzelne Steinfiguren mit roten Lätzchen und Mützchen an Wegkreuzungen oder am Eingang eines Friedhofes. Ganz selten sechs Figuren auf einem Stein, entweder je eine auf einem sechseckigen Stein oder auf drei Flächen jeweils zwei Figuren. Dabei unten die Reliefs der Jizoo-Statuen und oben eine Öffnung zum Einstellen einer Lampe, wie bei einer Steinlaterne (juusei rokumentoo) oder mit einer einfachen schirmförmigen Abdeckung (tansei rokumentoo).

Es gibt auch sechs Jizoo-Statuen in sechs verschiedenen Tempeln, z.B. in Kyooto an den ehemaligen sechs großen Verkehrswegen der Stadt während der Edo-Zeit.
Sehr selten als sechs Holzstatuen.

Die sechs Jizoo-Statuen nach Ashida:
Yotenga Welt der Götter (ten); Juwel.
Hookon Welt der Menschen (jin); langer Pilgerstab.
Kongoogan Welt der Hölle (jigoku); Banner der Hölle.
Kongoohoo Welt der Hungergeister (gaki); Juwel.
Kongootoo Welt der kämpfenden Dämonen (ashura); Banner der Hölle.
Kongoohi Welt der wilden Tiere (chikushoo); langer Pilgerstab.

Die sechs Jizoo-Statuen nach Tanaka:

Jizoo Bereich Linke Hand Rechte Hand
Daijoochihi Hölle langer Pilgerstab Juwel
Daitokuseijoo Geister Juwel Wunschgewährung
Daikoomyoo Tiere Juwel Wunscherfüllendes Juwel Seijoomuku Dämonen Juwel Sutraschatulle
Daiseijoo Menschen Juwel Fürchtet Euch nicht!
Daikengo Götter Juwel Sutrarolle

Nach einer anderen Version werden sie als Bosatsu bezeichnet:
Jizoo Bosatsu, Hooshuu Bosatsu, Hoosho Bosatsu, Hooinshu Bosatsu, Jichi Bosatsu und Kengoi Bosatsu.

Andere Versionen mit gefalteten Händen, Rosenkranz, Pilgerstab (mit zwei Köpfen (jintoojoo) oder mit einem Drachenkopf) und wunscherfüllendes Juwel, Baldachin, Räucherbecken oder einer Gebetsfahne kommen ebenfalls vor.

. . . . .

Wednesday, June 15 .

. Roku Jizō, Roku Jizoo 六地蔵 Roku Jizo, Six Jizo Statues .


[ . BACK to TOP of this BLOG. ]


  1. Anonymous6/15/2011

    What a story !
    Thanks for sharing.

  2. Anonymous6/15/2011

    It is very interesting.


  3. Thanks for stopping by, Zhanna.
    Miracles happen ...

  4. Wow that's incredible.
    I agree, it's really fascinating!
    and more . . .

  5. wow!!!! truly amazing to hear...

  6. This is an interesting story.
    I am now wondering why seven Jizo? Why six turned? The leader is not swayed from the path, it seems, but is the path in the right direction?
    Hmmm... mysterious!

  7. Anonymous6/17/2011

    I love this story....................... :-) :-)
    My wife says "hontokaiiiiii?"